Egypt v South Africa Betting Tips

egypt_elmohamady.
21:00 Sat 06 Jul
Football
CAF
Africa Cup of Nations
Tip: 1
Units: 3/5

Egypt didn’t necessarily produce the most convincing performances during the African Cup of Nations group stage, although the Pharaohs have come through with maximum points after three successive wins against Zimbabwe, DR Congo and Uganda.

Javier Aguirre’s team have a nice prize for winning the section in the form of a facile last sixteen clash against South Africa, with Bafana Bafana having lost two of their three group games but still coming into the knockout stage as one of the highest-performing third-placed teams.

Stuart Baxter’s team lost 1-0 to Ivory Coast in their opening match before winning by the same scoreline against Namibia. They were then turned over by Morocco after conceding a late winner and will aim to keep things similarly tight against the tournament hosts.

One goal from three group games means we can be confident that Egypt will shut out their opponents throughout the ninety minutes, with Ahmed Hegazi the rock at the centre of the team’s defence.

Mohamed El Neny and Abdallah El Said are also a solid combination in the middle of the park and Egypt are blessed to have a world-class talent in the form of Mohamed Salah who has been on the scoresheet in the past two matches.

Salah is a definitive match winner and it’s noticeable that captain Ahmed El Mohamady has also scored twice in this tournament, with the Aston Villa man offering a lively threat from the right-back position.

Everything points to a routine win for Egypt before the going gets tougher in the latter rounds and the only danger to this bet is the possibility of South Africa managing to see the tie into extra-time by getting a goalless draw.

Lebo Mothiba is likely to be the preferred choice in attack although the 23-year-old might cut a frustrated figure as the visitors look to make themselves hard to break down. 

BETTING TIP
Egypt win to nil @ 2.10 (11/10) with bet365

Free Daily Betting Tips from our Expert Tipsters

Tue 23 Jul
Wed 24 Jul
Thu 25 Jul
Fri 02 Aug
Sat 03 Aug
Sat 03 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Mon 05 Aug
Tue 06 Aug
Fri 09 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sun 11 Aug
Sun 11 Aug
Tue 13 Aug
Wed 14 Aug