Argentina v Colombia Betting Tips

football_argentina_leo-messi.
22:00 Sat 15 Jun
Football
Copa
America
Tip: X
Units: 1/5

Argentina and Colombia have been paired in Copa America 2019 Group B, with the teams meeting at the Itaipava Arena Fonte Nova in Salvador on 15 June.

As always, La Albiceleste are box office considering that Lionel Messi operates for them, although the 2018 World Cup campaign was a real mixed bag, with the Argentines humbled by Croatia in the group stage before scraping into the last sixteen where they were beaten by France.

Argentina have been unpredictable for some time. They continue to be top heavy with attacking players and it’s hard to argue with the calibre of Messi, Sergio Aguero, Paulo Dybala and Angel Di Maria.

However, last summer illustrated that the defence is often all over the place and it’s a damning indictment that their most experienced defender is Nicolas Otamendi, someone who was used sparingly at Manchester City last season.

None of the goalkeepers have more than four caps, while there’s a lack of quality defensive midfielder in the squad even if PSG’s Leandro Paredes appears to represent the future of the national team.

Colombia are more than a match for their opponents, with Los Cafeteros having acquitted themselves well at the 2018 World Cup and they were fiercely competitive against England at the last sixteen stage before losing on penalties.

Carlos Queiroz is an experienced operator as an international manager and will have a fit James Rodriguez for this tournament, something that wasn’t available to his predecessor in Russia.

The Bayern Munich midfielder is an important player for his country, while Radamel Falcao continues to captain the team who have swathes of defensive quality thanks to the presence of Davinson Sanchez, Yerry Mina, Cristian Zapata, Santiago Arias and Jeison Murillo.

This is a tournament opener and both teams would be happy enough with a draw before more winnable matches against Paraguay and Qatar, the latter of whom are likely to be the group’s whipping boys.

BETTING TIP
Draw @ 3.20 with bet365

Free Daily Betting Tips from our Expert Tipsters

Tue 23 Jul
Wed 24 Jul
Thu 25 Jul
Fri 02 Aug
Sat 03 Aug
Sat 03 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Mon 05 Aug
Tue 06 Aug
Fri 09 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sun 11 Aug
Sun 11 Aug
Tue 13 Aug
Wed 14 Aug