Portsmouth v Sunderland Betting Tips

ortsmouth_sunderland.
20:45 Thu 16 May
Football
England
League 1
Tip: 1
Units: 2/5

Two evenly-matched teams clashed at the Stadium of Light a few days ago and it was Sunderland who edged this League One first leg play-off encounter, with substitute Chris Maguire giving them a potentially priceless goal before the Black Cats had to contend with ten men.

Alim Ozturk’s sending off shortly after Sunderland had taken the lead meant a fraught ending to the game, although Jack Ross’ side now head south with a slender advantage over a Portsmouth team who didn’t create a lot on the night but will feel confident that a job can be done at Fratton Park.

It helps enormously to have an experienced managed for this sort of occasion and Kenny Jackett has it in spades. The Londoner has helped Millwall out of League One through the play-offs before, while he then went to Wolves and engineered automatic promotion at Molineux.

Jackett will understand what is required here, with Pompey having decent home form this season when winning twelve and drawing seven of their twenty-three matches.

Portsmouth average nearly two goals per home game and we’re happy to back them to overcome opponents who they have already beaten at home this term, especially as they managed a 3-1 victory on that occasion.

From March onwards, the south coast team have been in pretty good form, enjoying lots of high-scoring victories such as 5-1 triumph over Bradford, a 3-2 win at Wycombe and a 4-1 victory over Rochdale.

There are plenty of attacking options within the squad and Brett Pitman should return from injury to play his part in this match, while Oliver Hawkins might also get the nod in attack.

Sunderland know that a draw will be enough to take them to Wembley, with the Wearside team having avoided defeat on all but four occasions on the road this term.

However, the Black Cats have often erred on the side of caution and a raucous crowd at Fratton Park could cheer their team to a famous victory.

BETTING TIP
Portsmouth to win @ 2.30 (13/10) with bet365

Free Daily Betting Tips from our Expert Tipsters

Tue 23 Jul
Wed 24 Jul
Thu 25 Jul
Fri 02 Aug
Sat 03 Aug
Sat 03 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Mon 05 Aug
Tue 06 Aug
Fri 09 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sun 11 Aug
Sun 11 Aug
Tue 13 Aug
Wed 14 Aug