Croatia v Wales Betting Tips

modric_croatia.
20:45 Sat 08 Jun
Football
Euro
2020 Qualifying
Tip: 1
Units: 1/5

Croatia are finding it tough to adjust after a wonderful 2018 World Cup which saw the Blazers go all the way to the final before losing to France. Four points from four Nations League games saw them relegated last year, although Spain and England were hardly going to be a pushover.

Nevertheless, Euro 2020 qualifying has begun in an auspicious fashion, with the Croats having to come from behind to beat Azerbaijan before losing a lead away to Hungary and losing the game.

Zlatko Dalic’s team now entertain Wales in Osijek and there’s a fair amount of pressure considering their opponents are legitimate candidates to claim one of the two qualifying spots in Group E.

Indeed, this section appears to be very tight although Croatia can still claim to be the class act and retain the services of Luka Modric and Ivan Rakitic in the midfield area. The pair have operated for Real Madrid and Barcelona respectively this season and will ensure a high percentage of possession.

Ante Rebic has also enjoyed a strong campaign for Eintracht Frankfurt and there are other midfield options in the form of Ivan Perisic and Andrej Kramaric, with Domagoj Vida and Dejan Lovren expected to be the first-choice central defenders.

While Croatia still have an ageing team, they did beat Spain in the Nations League and should overcome a Wales team who don’t have the injured Aaron Ramsey in their ranks and he’s probably as big a miss as Gareth Bale

Bale has a wonderful strike rate for his country but has had a miserable time of things domestically and might be short of match sharpness in this clash.

The remainder of the squad is uninspiring on an international level, with Daniel James and David Brooks having the potential to become top drawer players, while Harry Wilson has a good set piece prowess but might not see a huge amount of the ball.

BETTING TIP
Croatia @ 1.57 with bet365

Free Daily Betting Tips from our Expert Tipsters

Tue 23 Jul
Wed 24 Jul
Thu 25 Jul
Fri 02 Aug
Sat 03 Aug
Sat 03 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Mon 05 Aug
Tue 06 Aug
Fri 09 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sun 11 Aug
Sun 11 Aug
Tue 13 Aug
Wed 14 Aug