UEFA Nations League Finals betting preview and tips

england_0.

The UEFA Nations League Finals take place between 5-9 June 2019, with the matches being hosted at the Estádio do Dragão in Porto and Estádio D. Afonso Henriques in Guimarães.

The bookmakers regard this as a wide open competition, with bet365 going 3.00 about hosts Portugal winning the tournament and it’s clear that they have the advantage of playing their semi and potentially final in front of a passionate home crowd.

The Portuguese made it past Italy and Poland to reach this stage and perhaps had the easiest route through, although it was achieved without Cristiano Ronaldo who hasn’t represented his country since the 2018 World Cup.

Bet365 regard England as the favourites to win the Nations League and they will certainly expect to go all the way after emerging from a section that featured Croatia and Spain.

It was a slow start for the Three Lions who lost at home to the Spanish although a win over the Croats at Wembley means they are heading to Portugal next summer and England are 2.75 to be celebrating an inaugural Nations League win.

Perhaps these teams will meet each other in the final, with England facing the Netherlands in the semi-finals and the Dutch came through possibly the toughest-looking group of all that included World Cup winners France.

The French were expected to make their presence felt after triumphing in Russia although it’s the Dutch who will be there instead after drawing 2-2 in Germany during their final game.

Ronald Koeman’s side are a 4.00 chance to go all the way in the Nations League and it’s worth noting that Holland are on an upward trajectory under their new manager, with some exciting young players emerging all the time.

Switzerland are certainly not out of their depth and dished out a 5-2 hammering to Belgium to ensure it would be them lining up in Portugal and not the Red Devils.

Perhaps the Swiss are being underestimated at odds of 7.00 to win the thing, with the team having scored fourteen goals during their four group games which included a 6-0 thrashing of Iceland.

Haris Seferovic scored five times in four games and the excellent Xherdan Shaqiri will look forward to playing on the big stage, with Switzerland meeting Portugal in their semi-final match.

Bet365 offer odds of 5.00 that the Swiss win this encounter and it’s a surprise to see them trading so big considering Portugal were hardly outstanding during the group phase.

They had slender wins against Italy and Poland before drawing against the two teams and 1.72 looks like a little skinny about the hosts.

Meanwhile, England are 2.25 favourites to overcome the Netherlands and the Three Lions have that experience of reaching the World Cup semi-finals.

However, the Dutch are 3.20 for the win and have little to lose considering few expected them to reach this stage of the competition.



Latest Betting Previews

Saturday 23 Mar
Sunday 24 Mar
Monday 25 Mar
Tuesday 26 Mar
Friday 29 Mar
Saturday 30 Mar
Sunday 31 Mar
Monday 01 Apr
Tuesday 02 Apr
Wednesday 03 Apr
Friday 05 Apr
Saturday 06 Apr
Sunday 07 Apr
Monday 08 Apr
Tuesday 09 Apr
Wednesday 10 Apr
Thursday 11 Apr