Argentina v Paraguay Betting Tips

football_argentina_leo-messi.
02:30 Thu 20 Jun
Football
Copa
America
Tip: Argentina HT FT
Units: 1/5

We opposed Argentina in their Copa America opener against Colombia and were duly rewarded when La Albiceleste were beaten 2-0, although it should be noted that the team did dominate the play against Los Cafeteros and that their opponents’ two goals came against the run of play.

Lionel Scaloni’s team are now in Belo Horizonte to face Paraguay and we’re backing them to get things right at the Estadio Mineirao, with Argentina having had thirteen shots against Colombia and six of these were on target.

Lionel Messi needs little introduction and will clearly shine against a team who let a 2-0 lead slip against Qatar recently, while Sergio Aguero and Angel Di Maria mean that the Argentines have the most lethal front three at the Copa America.

Not for the first time, the team are much stronger going forward than they are at the back, with Manchester City reserve defender Nicolas Otamendi one of the selections at the back alongside German Pezzella. 

Pezzella has only earned eight caps to date, while goalkeeper Franco Armani is also inexperienced at international level and the River Plate stopper is a late bloomer at the age of 32.

Even so, Paraguay don’t look capable of keeping their opponents at bay and will feel deflated coming into this game after failing to seal the deal against Qatar.

That was clearly their easiest game in a difficult group, with Oscar Cardozo remaining their talisman at the advancing age of 36, while Newcastle’s Miguel Almiron adds that touch of class in the attacking midfield position.

There is less to like about a defence that doesn’t get a brilliant amount of protection from Celso Ortiz and Juan Rodrigo Rojas, with Argentina set to get their Copa America campaign up and running. 

BETTING TIP
Argentina HT FT @ 2.20 with bet365

Free Daily Betting Tips from our Expert Tipsters

Tue 23 Jul
Wed 24 Jul
Thu 25 Jul
Fri 02 Aug
Sat 03 Aug
Sat 03 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Sun 04 Aug
Mon 05 Aug
Tue 06 Aug
Fri 09 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sat 10 Aug
Sun 11 Aug
Sun 11 Aug
Tue 13 Aug
Wed 14 Aug