RWC2019 Betting Tips - World Cup 2019

Rugby Union

The Rugby Union World Cup is a brilliant spectacle that takes place every four years, with twenty teams now competing for the Webb Ellis Cup, the most prestigious trophy in the entire game.

New Zealand are the most famous rugby-playing country in the world and it’s the All Blacks who have been the most successful nation on a global stage. Betting customers were able to successfully back them to win the 2011 and 2015 World Cups after several near misses along the way.

With twenty teams competing in the 2019 World Cup, there are a mass of betting opportunities for a tournament which spans forty-four days, with the nations split into four groups of five teams who play a round robin format before we see the quarter finals, semi-finals and final played to determine the overall champion.

Rugby Union World Cup History

The Rugby World Cup is a fairly recent innovation, with the first tournament being held in 1987 when it was co-hosted between Australia and New Zealand. It was won by the All Blacks after they beat France in the final by a convincing scoreline of 29-9, with the Aussies losing to Wales in a third place play-off.

New Zealand had to wait until 2011 to win a second World Cup despite being sent off as favourites for every tournament until then. They beat the French in a very low-scoring affair in 2011 and followed this up in 2015 with a 34-17 win against Australia to make it a hat-trick of wins.

Australia previously enjoyed two World Cup successes, with the Wallabies claiming the 1991 World Cup title in the United Kingdom before landing the spoils in Wales when beating the perennially unlucky France in the final.

South Africa won the 1995 World Cup on home soil and it was memorable for Nelson Mandela being a figurehead for the tournament, while England beat Australia in the 2003 final after a Jonny Wilkinson drop-goal sealed victory in extra-time.

How to bet on the 2019 Rugby World Cup

The 2019 Rugby World Cup will take place in Japan, the first time this country has hosted the tournament and testament to the growing popularity of the sport in Asia. This is a competition which doesn’t just attract rugby betting customers but those interested in other sports whose imagination is captured by the spectacle of the World Cup.

Naturally, you can bet on the 2019 World Cup winner and it’s little surprise that New Zealand are trading as the bookmaker favourites to claim a fourth World Cup. England, Australia and Ireland are the next teams in the betting, with the Irish bidding to win their first ever World Cup.

Pool betting is also popular on the Rugby World Cup and you can put several teams in an accumulator. New Zealand are predictably favourites to win Pool B, with Ireland drawn in a favourable Pool A, while England have to meet France and Argentina in Pool C and Australia will go up against Wales in Pool D.

When it comes to the actual match betting for the 2019 Rugby World Cup, the most popular types of bet involve taking one of the two teams on the two-way or three-way handicap. This is where the bookmakers afford a handicap and odds to each team so you can sometimes bet on New Zealand to win at 1.91 although they often have to cover a sizeable handicap.

More Rugby Union Hub Pages