Premier League Darts Betting Tips


Premier League Darts is one of the biggest professional darts competitions that forms part of the PDC schedule of events. It differs from a typical darts tournament in the fact that ten players compete against each other in a round robin format over a period of several weeks.

The top-ranked four players in the PDC are joined by six other players and there are nine rounds of matches played all over parts of the United Kingdom and also in the Netherlands. Two players then drop out of the Premier League and there are a further seven rounds of matches played.

After that, the top four players in the Premier League go through to the finals night where there are semi-finals and a final. This is played at the O2 Arena and the 2017 renewal was won by Michael van Gerwen who is threatening to dominate the Premier League for years to come.

The history of Premier League Darts

The Premier League started in 2005 where seven players competed and it was the legendary Phil Taylor who beat Colin Lloyd in the final. The man known as The Power went on to win a further three titles before James Wade won in 2009 when beating Mervyn King in the final.

Wade also reached the 2010 final although he was beaten by Phil Taylor, with The Power also winning in 2012 although Gary Anderson won a maiden Premier League title in 2011 as the Flying Scotsman announced himself on a world stage.

In 2013, Michael van Gerwen won his first ever Premier League title in what was to be a breakthrough year for the young Dutchman, with MVG now setting the benchmark in world darts and he claimed titles in 2016 and 2017 to illustrate his current dominance of this competition.

However, Raymond van Barneveld has been one of the most popular players in the Premier League Darts and he claimed victory in 2014, while Gary Anderson secured a second title in 2015 by beating MVG in the final.

How to bet on Premier League Darts

Premier League Darts is a fantastic betting sport and the fact that is spans several weeks means that you can dip in and out of the betting markets when you choose.

Before the tournament starts each year, there’s a chance to bet on markets such as Premier League winner, relegation, final standings leader and to qualify for the finals night (finish in the top four). These are antepost Premier League markets which usually reopen after each round of games have been played.

The five Premier League matches for each round are played in the same night, so there are a myriad of betting opportunities. Many betting customers like to place an accumulator bet on each match, giving them big odds should all of their selected players claim victory.

There are also individual match markets where you can bet on match winner, correct score, most 180’s and highest checkout. These sort of markets are also made available on an In-Play basis, with the odds changing according to what’s happening on the oche.

It’s worth noting that there can be a draw in Premier League Darts group matches, with the scoreline often tied at 7-7, especially if both players are able to hold their throw.

More Darts Hub Pages